Today’s Lesson: What Happens When You Assume?

I was reading a blog list about soul artists of the caucasian persuasion.  As a HUGE fan of the blue-eyed soul movement of the 70’s and 80’s I was interested to see where they ranked my favorites like Kenny Loggins, Michael McDonald, Hall & Oates, James Taylor, Steve Winwood and others.  I was prepared for Mick Jagger to be unfortunately somewhere on the list and positive that Teena Marie would be close to if not at the top. To my surprise, not one of those artists were on the list but Justin Bieber and JoJo made it. Obviously this list wasn’t for me. I read through the comments expecting others to be as outraged as I was about the obvious exclusions and most were.  A  few championed Hall & Oates and some were Teena Marie advocates but an overwhelming majority co-signed on a guy I had never heard mentioned by name, Bobby Caldwell. As many times as I’ve heard the classics below sampled or otherwise, I always assumed that were sung by BLACK men the first of which being Stevie Wonder.  Needless to say I was WRONG.

Leave a Reply

